EEA Nationals

Nationals of EEA countries do not require work permits.

What is the European Economic Area (EEA)?

The EEA is an area of free trade and free movement of peoples comprising the member states of the European Union, in addition to: Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein.

The member states of the European Union are:

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom.

Non-European Economic Area (EEA) nationals

A non-EEA national, except in the cases listed below, requires an employment permit to take up employment in Ireland...

Non-EEA nationals in the State on a Work Authorisation/Working Visa
Van der Elst Case - The European Court of Justice delivered a judgement on the Van der Elst Case (Freedom to Provide Services) on 9 August, 1994. The Court ruled that in the case of non-EEA workers legally employed in one Member State who are temporarily sent on a contract to another Member State, the employer does not need to apply for employment permits in respect of the non-EEA nationals for the period of contract.
a non-EEA national who has been granted refugee status
A non-EEA national who is a registered student working less than 20 hours a week
Swiss nationals
Non-EEA nationals who have been granted permission to remain in the State on one of the following grounds:
· Permission to remain as spouse or a dependent of an Irish/EEA national;
· Permission to remain as the parent of an Irish citizen;
· Temporary leave to remain in the State on humanitarian grounds, having been in the Asylum process.
· Explicit permission from the Department of Justice and Equality to remain resident and employed in the State
· Appropriate business permission to operate a business in the State

    Tables showing the breakdown of employment permits by nationality are available on the Department of Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation website

    ^ Back to top